[Skip to Content]
Dispatch Non-Emergency 325.657.4315

Press Release #012916(22)-San Angelo P. D. Attains Re-Recognition Status

On January 25, 2016, the Texas Police Chiefs Association Foundation notified the San Angelo Police Department regarding their achievement in obtaining second ?Re-Recognition Status? for their compliance with the Texas Law Enforcement Agency Best Practices Recognition Program.
The Law Enforcement Recognition Program is a voluntary process where police agencies in Texas prove their compliance with 164 Texas Law Enforcement Best Practices. These Best Practices were developed by Texas Law Enforcement professionals to assist agencies in the efficient and effective delivery of service, the reduction of risk and the protection of individual's rights. Agencies undergo stringent reassessment every four years to maintain their status.
While similar in nature to the national accreditation program, the Best Practices Recognition Program is easier to administer, lower in cost and is designed specifically for Texas Law Enforcement. The Texas Legislature demands a great deal of professional law enforcement in Texas and the Best Practices were specifically designed to aid Texas agencies in meeting those demands and providing the best quality of service to the people of our State.
Since its inception in 2006, over 50 Texas Law Enforcement Agencies have been recognized and many more are currently in the process to become Recognized Agencies. While members of the Texas Police Chiefs Association recognizes and supports the national accreditation program, The Texas Best Practices Recognition Program has clearly become the Gold Standard for Texas Law Enforcement.
The Department was the fourth Texas police department to earn recognition status since the program's inception, earning recognition status first in 2008 and Re-Recognition Status in 2012.
The Department will be formally recognized for its Re-Recognition Status during the 2016 TPCA Annual Conference Awards & Recognition Luncheon slated for March 23, 2016 in Austin, Texas.